My Freelancing Journey [1]

I hope everyone is doing great. It has been a busy week and workload has been piling up as well. I’ve been overwhelmed with consecutive offers I have received since last month. And of course, I am thankful that I am learning a lot while I am working – something I didn’t experience before. Yes, I do enjoy working in the office before, especially when I was with my husband, but when work became toxic and stressed me a lot, I really thought of working at home.

I became sure of my decision when I gave birth. I started looking for jobs like online teaching, article writings, even customer support (chat and voice). It was January this year when I landed a job as an online teacher for Korean kids. However, I didn’t stay with them for too long since my student quit studying with the center. By that time, I only have her as my student so when she decided to quit, I started checking jobs on UpWork and Onlinejobs.

I created a profile in UpWork even though I am clueless as to how it really works. I set my hourly rate to $10 and started applying for customer support jobs.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get any invitation from any of the job ads where I submitted my proposals. I didn’t know I was doing it wrong. UpWork even though I am clueless as to how it really works. I set my hourly rate to $10 and started applying for customer support jobs.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get any invitation from any of the job ads where I submitted my proposals. I didn’t know I was doing it wrong.

I tried my luck with Onlinejobs and as we move into our new apartment in Imus, I got accepted as a Virtual Assistant to Gravizy Media. Gravizy is an affiliate marketing company and they provide web services to the different client. I was assigned to one of the executives. I handled their WordPress blogs and maintain the activity there. My contract with them has ended last August so I’ve been idle since then. blogs and maintain the activity there. My contract with them has ended last August so I’ve been idle since then. blogs and maintain the activity there. My contract with them has ended last August so I’ve been idle since then. Gravizy is an affiliate marketing company and they provide web services to the different client. I was assigned to one of the executives. I handled their WordPress blogs, and maintain the activity there. My contract with them has ended last August so I’ve been idle since then. blogs and maintain the activity there. My contract with them has ended last August so I’ve been idle since then. blogs and maintain the activity there. My contract with them has ended last August so I’ve been idle since then.

As I am searching for a new job in Onlinejobs, I stumbled upon a group on Facebook. It’s Online Filipino Freelancers and Sis Nizza’s group for home-based Peeps. I discovered that most of the Onlinejobs, I stumbled upon a group on Facebook. It’s Online Filipino Freelancers and Sis Nizza’s group for home-based Peeps. I discovered that most of the home-based workers there are using UpWork. Being curious as to how they get work in UpWork, I tried reading all their experiences. And from there, I discovered what I was lacking on my proposals.

It has been a month since I started with UpWork and I am on my 3rd contract with them as of today. Isn’t it amazing?

I realized you have to wait for your turn and while patiently waiting, you can read this one! This is a good read.

You can also visit Prescott Papers for more informative articles other than the link I suggested!

Ciao,

Rhi

12 comments

      1. Hmm, hindi naman. It will actually depend sa task na gagawin mo. Like kung article writing lang naman at may definite number lang na kailangan si client, yun lang naman ang isasubmit mo. May fixed price projects at meron ding mga hourly.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Try mo, if may laptop ka at okay naman connection mo, try mo sa UpWork. 🙂 Baka mag-post ako later pag sinipag ako ng mga how-to’s hehe.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

